Shropshire District Association History
In August 1951 a small group of Shropshire members approached Central Counties Region with a proposal to form a seperate section.
A formal meeting was called so that any Shropshire members interested could attend. The meeting was duly held at the Queens Head Vaults in Ironbridge on Saturday 17th of November 1951 and the Shropshire section was formed.
Their first meet was held at Wrekin Buildings Farm, on 3rd to 4th May 1952.
In 1973 the North Central Region of the Camping and Caravanning Club was formed which covered the counties of Gwynedd, Anglesey, Conwy, Denbighshire, Flintshire, Staffordshire, Derbyshire and Shropshire.
The D.A. celebrated its 25th Anniversary at Morville on 7th to 9th May 1976, they also celebrated their 50th at Wall-Under-Haywood at the May-Day weekend in 2001.
The membership of Shropshire D.A. has fluctuated over the years, but in spite of this it has always had enthusiastic and hard working members on its committee that have enabled it to survive.
In recent years it has had the benefit of other enthusiastic, dedicated and imaginative people whose work and ideas have enriched the camping experience of its members.
The D.A also, in the past, produced an award winning publication “Around the Wrekin” for its members, giving them an insite to the activities that have held over the past year and to entertain them with their stories and jokes.
Over the weekend of 19th to 22nd August 2011 the D.A celebrated its 60th year since its creation in 1951 as an independent section.
With the vibrant membership the D.A currently enjoys, it looks like as if the D.A will continue to thrive as it has over the past 60 years.